Walking In A Winter Wonderland

20 December, 2009 at 12:22 pm (Christmas!, Miscellaneous)

As pretty much everyone knows by now, the East coast got hit with a pretty big blizzard last night. Knowing it was coming, I rushed around yesterday and did ALL the shopping I needed to do before Wednesday – gifts, groceries, etc. I wanted to make it so that I could have the option of not leaving my apartment again before going to Jersey for Christmas!

Good theory.

Well, technically, I didn’t HAVE to leave my apartment today. And honestly, I’m glad that I took care of everything – this is the kind of weather which makes running errands a pain. But this morning…well, for some reason, I was up at 6:20. It’s as if I was a 10-year-old, trying to see if I’d get a snow day from school. I laid around for about an hour, and then thought, “screw it” – I was up for the day anyway. I looked outside, and saw this:

Looks funny because it was taken behind the screen on my window


It was still and quiet outside, and I was wide awake – no WAY was I going to sit and not go see the park while it was still freshly covered with snow. So I got bundled up and out I went. Now, my apartment is across the street from a pond in the park, so I basically stuck around there – and the pics are all from my iPhone, hence the quality. But still – it was SO nice to go out and walk around! I discovered a couple of things:

1. The only people who go out at 8:00 on a [Sunday] morning after a blizzard are people with dogs and people with cameras.

2. I don’t know if it is because of the holiday season, or the snow, or the shared camaraderie of being some of the few out in the park together at such a unique time, but everyone was SO friendly. Like, saying-hi-as-passing-each-other-on-the-sidewalk friendly. It was odd. But nice 🙂

Anyway, here are some of the pictures…



It's hard to see, but these are ducks that live in the pond, using the one small bit not frozen


This pic isn't pretty - I've just never seen Central Park West so empty during the daytime

So, first snow storm of the season! And I’m not certain, but I think it may be the biggest snow I’ve ever experienced. And now, a day inside – enjoying Beatles Rock Band, wrapping presents, and watching Christmas movies. I love this time of year!

2 Comments

  1. Rosella said,

    Beautiful, thanks for the pics.

  2. Leslie said,

    I would have built a snowman with you Rosella Jo!

Leave a Reply

