Nicole Scherzinger reworks “Jai Ho”

12 March, 2009 at 12:55 pm (Music, Survey!)

Okay, so I’ve already said how much I love the song “Jai Ho” from “Slumdog Millionaire”. I posted a YouTube video with the song a few weeks ago; they performed it on the Oscars. I’m pretty sure most people are familiar with it by now.

Well, Ms. Scherzinger, of the Pussycat Dolls, has redone the song. In English. She did it with AR Rahman (the man who originally made it), so it’s an “approved” version or whatever…but I just don’t like it as much. It’s not awful; just nowhere near as good as the original. You can listen to it here

3 Comments

  1. adayinthelyfe said,

    I’m torn. I realize that in the poll above, I wrote “Hindu”; it should be Hindi. However, I can’t edit the poll without completely re-doing it (I think). And if I do that, I’ll lose the votes! What to do, what to do.

  2. sandy said,

    lol – you’d think that after hanging out with me, you’d know the difference between hindu and hindi. sigh.

    for the record – i do NOT like this version. and not just because i don’t like the pussycat dolls and nicole’s voice. okay, maybe that’s why …

    a.r.rahman is SO talented, and i’ve heard his music for years now. i just don’t think this song needed a remix.

    that’s my two cents 🙂

  3. adayinthelyfe said,

    Hey, look, the update in the survey worked – it’s Hindi now!

    And Sandy, since you’re the only Indian-British-Canadian-American who reads this blog, you’re the closest thing I have to an expert. Too bad you’re not Hindu/i…

Leave a Reply

