Brent’s “Goodbye Blue State – Hello Red State!” Party

21 February, 2009 at 6:47 pm (Weekend Update)

Ah, parties. I haven’t thrown one in quite some time (and nothing to the extent that this one was…but I’m getting ahead of myself!). Brent, for reasons that only he can quite understand, decided to pack it up and leave NYC for Dallas. Now, I can understand why people would want to leave New York (well, sort of). But leaving NY to become a Texan?! Mon dieu. However, this post is not to question Brent’s judgement; he’s excited to be moving, and I’m happy that he’s doing what he wants to do! This post is about Brent’s going away party.

Oh, the party.

Originally, [note: at this point in the blog writing, Time Warner’s always fantastic internet screwed up, and I lost a few paragraphs. So I’m going to attempt to recreate what I’d already written, but I can guarantee that it won’t have the wit and charm of the original draft]

Okay, so… Originally, Brent planned to have dinner with a few people at a restaurant here, and then possibly karaoke after. Yet he didn’t seem super-excited about these plans, and Robert and I thought he might enjoy having a party instead. We wanted to try and surprise him, realized there was no way that was going to work, and so asked him about the party. He was into it, so we went for it.

Now, most of you don’t know, but Robert doesn’t do anything “small” or “simple”. The planning for this turned into hours of conversations about menus, guest lists, decor, music, entertainment, etc. etc. Of course the end result was fab and all the attention to details totally paid off. But I can’t tell you the debates that went around guacamole vs. 7-layer dip (n.b.: we went with the 7-layer, and it was a hit. It seems 7-layer dip isn’t really a “thing” in the N.E., and all the Oklahoma transplants at the party got REALLY excited about it.). On the plus side, I have learned that one can order a flag for any state in the country, and have it express delivered, for a relatively low price!

So. I got over to Robert & Kevin’s early the day of the party, and while Kevin worked Robert and I got the place ready (fun fact: it takes 3 hours to cover their ceiling with crepe streamers), made food, and juiced 70 limes for homemade margarita mix (thankfully, Rachel came and helped with this!). Despite the planning and prep, we were rushing around to finish up before people started arriving at 8:00 – and we just made it.

The party was a lot of fun, if I do say so myself! Let’s go to the pictures…

[note 2: this is where I was when the internet messed up last time – trying to post the first pic. Fingers crossed…but just in case, I’ve saved a draft!]

Balloons all blown by Robert.

Balloons all blown by Robert.

The flag is 100% polyester. Nothing but the best.

The flag is 100% polyester. Nothing but the best.

We went with a Texas theme for the party. Texas flag, Tex Mex food, and more margaritas than you can shake a Texas-sized stick at.

I somehow turned into cafeteria lady when everyone was getting food…
joeyserving2

And what did we do, beside eat and drink? Well, we were going to play trivia (questions about Texas and Brent!), but that never really happened. We did take turns saying favorite Brent memories, which was nice. And then, since there were so many OSU alumni at the party, we decided to go old-school and play beer pong.

Beer pong was a bit tricky, insomuch that I had rarely played in college and don’t remember the rules. And, it turns out that every university has its own rules for playing (multiple cups? bouncing on the table?). Regardless of that, my team lost. Brent chose all the girls there to be on his team…I don’t want to say that sex played a role, but – yeah. We didn’t get them to drink once. Not ONCE.

We're classy; no red plastic Solo cups here...

No red plastic Solo cups here...

The party went by quickly – too fast! At the end, a flag ceremony (with sword!) was performed to pass the Texas flag along to Brent, and everyone trickled home. Eventually, it was just Robert, Kevin, Brent, and me…and all those decorations.

There are no words

There are no words

There are more pics from the party on photobucket, but you’ll have to get the password from Robert.

2 Comments

  1. Mom said,

    Pretty awesome decorating. The food looks pretty good too – guess I should have gone to the party 😉

  2. Future Texan said,

    I think that was one of the best parties I’ve ever attended. You guys did a wonderful job! I’m glad I could give you an excuse to plan such a fabulous event.

Leave a Reply

