Sitting, Waiting, Wishing in Phoenix

12 February, 2009 at 8:21 pm (This Can't Be Good, Travel)

So last week I was in Chicago…

Surprisingly close to BoysTown

Surprisingly close to BoysTown

…and this week my job has brought me to Phoenix. It’s been a quickie trip, so not much to report – except that apparently NYC had crazy winds today (confidential to NYC: 35 mph would be considered a light breeze in Stillwater, OK), so my flight is delayed. 3 1/2 hours delayed. On the plus side, this airport has free wifi! Shocking. So, here I am. Highlights from the trip:

– our hotel was near our office, both of which are in a nice part of Phoenix. However, this was next door to our hotel:

This makes me giggle; I have the maturity of a 12-year-old.

This makes me giggle; I have the maturity of a 12-year-old.

– Phoenix is surrounded by mountains, and you could see them from our office here (which, by the way, is MUCH nicer than our home office in NYC).

These looked closer in real life. And the building didn't seem so obtrusive.

These looked closer in real life. And the building didn't seem so obtrusive.

– Phoenix doesn’t do daylight savings time, so it doesn’t get dark til after 7:00 in February (!). Also, it’s really warm here. (Deserts! Who knew?) It wasn’t too warm while I was here – in the 60s; it was actually warmer in NYC yesterday. However, it IS already springtime here!

This was taken from a cab.  Not that you needed to know that.

This was taken from a cab. Not that you needed to know that.

So that’s that; in 6 1/2 hours (fingers crossed!) I’ll be home. For now, I’ll drink my overpriced beer and count down the minutes…only two hours to go…

1 Comment

  1. Rosella said,

    Hopefully it was a successful trip and you had a taste of spring. Mtns are peaceful and relaxing. Enjoy being home, spring will be there soon.

Leave a Reply

