Last weekend, and Chicago

7 February, 2009 at 5:10 pm (Food, Miscellaneous, Movie to Watch, Music, Weekend Update)

Yes, yes, it’s already Saturday – but there were two things of note that I wanted to mention about last weekend, and I wanted to be sure that I didn’t miss doing so!

1. I went and saw Slumdog Millionaire. Finally, weeks and weeks after it opened here – I don’t know what took me so long. Anyway, it’s a fantastic movie (that’s right, you heard it here first). It’s way more intense than I imagined it would be (I was expecting a sweet, heartwarming story about a poor kid who goes on a game show. Um, not quite.). But it’s definitely a must-see. And the soundtrack is fantastic, I bought it as soon as I got home. The best song is called “Jai Ho”; they play it over the closing credits (the only part of the movie that is even a little bit “Bollywood”). So I’m posting a “video” here (you know how I love to post the YouTube); however, since this movie is still in theatres, it’s not the scene from the film. Rather, it’s a photo of the film while the song plays. In other words, you’ll want to just push play and then keep reading…nothing to see here, move along, move along 🙂

2. I finally learned how to flip things using only a skilletcorrection: according to the chef, it was a saute pan. On Sunday, Robert made carnitas and I went over to learn to make homemade tortillas. Not only that, I learned to turn one over using only the flip of my wrist. (let it be said: Robert is a patient man). So watch out pancakes, here I come! Um, if only I could make decent pancakes to begin with. Damn.

So that was last weekend! Then this week, I went to Chicago for work. I have never really spent time in Chicago before, and it was nice. The downtown is a lot better than I expected; there’s actually life in their downtown (restaurants, etc.), and the architecture is pretty fantastic. I also got to meet up with an old friend while I was there. I hadn’t seen Ray for three years or so, so that was nice! Granted, I was out later than I should have been…but it was totally worth it.

I’m in the city for the weekend…I had thought I’d go to Princeton to buy Rachel a drink for her 21st. However, I have to turn around and go to Phoenix for work on Tuesday, so I decided I’d stay close to home for the weekend. A fun-filled Saturday of catching up on the DVR, and a Sunday of laundry and the Grammys (or is that Grammies?). Yeah, probably won’t have much to blog about for a couple of days…

2 Comments

  1. Rosella said,

    Well, that was great. Loved the musical score, but feel a need to learn some Hindi. I hate not knowing what is being said. Still, thanks.

  2. Mom said,

    I loved this movie and the soundtrack too.

Leave a Reply

