Okay, so let me be honest…

27 January, 2009 at 3:39 pm (Music, SuperGay)

I’ve had nothing blog worthy happening lately. NOTHING. I sit at home a whole bunch (stupid winter!), and though I have a blast going to R&K’s for game nights, I don’t think anyone wants to read about that. But I hate not blogging, because, you know, I like to think I’m important enough to blog. Also, I feel like I should offer a break from the Barack posts of late.

So! I’ll go to my default blog option: the YouTube video. This is an Elton John song that I really never listened to until fairly recently, the last 5 years or so. (I say “listened to” because I know I’ve heard it way before that – both the parents were big Elton John fans while I was growing up). Anyway, this song, from Honky Chateau, is called “Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters” and I really love it. Even if it does reference “rose trees”, which I’m pretty sure aren’t a thing [update: Rachel did the research, and apparently, rose trees are a thing]. Also, he says “hobo”, not “homo”, which is what I thought for a long time…but yeah, seriously, great song. And I found a video of it from back when he could actually sing high enough to hit the notes in the original key – even better!

*bonus: Elton is wearing a really shiny purple shirt. Nobody was surprised when he came out in the 90s, right?

5 Comments

  1. Rachel said,

  2. fozziebare13 said,

    I didn’t technically read the entire blog after you said there was nothing to blog about but I did notice this: Obama looks really gay in that video.

  3. adayinthelyfe said,

    Well, Rachel, it seems you have proven me wrong! I just knew someone would google it…I can’t believe I didn’t do so!

  4. Rosella said,

    Or you could have called your grandmother!! Rose trees are genetically manipulated, but they are quite lovely even though they require enormous maintenance. Being of the English family, Elton would be quite familiar with them. He looks as lovely in his sparkley purple as he did years ago, but I don’t jump in fear anymore. Still, his songs are beautiful even if I never did understand them all. Just because I am old, but hey, I like them anyway.
    Sometimes I am too boring to have a blog to write, but not so with you. So get with it…I need to read.

  5. Brent said,

    So this is the first time I have actually commented on your BLOG. I hate that word by the way. Since I don’t have a job now, I guess it doesn’t leave me an excuse not to comment. I enjoyed the Elton song, although I did a double take when it showed the guy playing the ukulele and his creepy blonde twin playing the real guitar side by side. Yikes. It frightens me to think what Elton might have done with those guys backstage.

Leave a Reply

