The Inauguration

21 January, 2009 at 5:50 pm (Barack Obama, Historical Figure)

obama1

There’s not much that I can say about the inauguration that hasn’t already been said. I (surprisingly) didn’t get choked up. Maybe I cried too much on election night? Because I was a mess that night!

But Tuesday was still HUGELY exciting! We hosted an inaugural watch party…I say we, because I planned on hosting at my place. Nothing big: have a few friends come over for brunch, turn on the cable, and let it play. However, over the weekend, I discovered that my building would be having boiler maintenance on the 20th, and there would be no heat or hot water. So much for the party. Then, Robert and Kevin offered to have it at their place. So that’s what we did! It was nice, and Robert’s quiche was much better than mine would have been. But the main thing was to watch Obama be sworn in.

Like I said, I didn’t cry. However, I thought it was great…slightly mortified for him when the oath was flubbed, of course, but it didn’t really put a damper on things [Update: Chief Justice Roberts administered a do-over for President Obama on Wednesday evening]. And I thought his speech was good. It wasn’t the big, sweeping speeches of his campaign – but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I think that it set exactly the right tone for the presidency…and I appreciated that he got a couple of digs in at Bush 🙂

And now he is president! I won’t lie, I still get a little giddy when I hear or say “President Obama”. I’m sure I’ll get used to it…eventually!

And below, of course, I’m posting a video of the big moment.

obama2

Leave a Reply

