NPH on SNL

12 January, 2009 at 12:56 am (Funny Stuff, SuperGay)

Neil Patrick Harris hosted Saturday Night Live this week. Neil Patrick Harris is everyone’s favorite comeback kid…I love that not only do people not automatically associate him with Doogie Howser, M.D. anymore (which I used to love, by the way, and which you can watch online anytime at hulu.com), but that he has also embraced the fact that he was a well-known child actor. Kudos, Mr. Harris. Plus, the guy has pretty great comedic timing. And he does magic! In fact, here’s a clip of him on Ellen, doing a trick. I’m posting it because, well, I still can’t figure out how the hell he pulls it off.

But anyway, he hosted SNL, and I watched several clips from it online. He was good in most, but the sketches themselves mostly fell flat (we all know how hit-or-miss SNL can be). But then, there was the Broadway sketch. It actually made me “LOL” a few times – and Neil Patrick Harris as Mark from Rent is too good to be missed. I was going to embed the video on my site, but it automatically started playing as soon as you opened the page, and that’s just annoying. So instead, here is the link to the video on NBC’s site. Enjoy!

3 Comments

  1. adayinthelyfe said,

    Just to note: I DO know how he pulls off the trick, but it’s still neat 🙂

  2. Kristen said,

    That was impressive. Perhaps it was a Hollywood fake automatic head???? Hmmm…

    I agree with the SNL, his monologue and the broadway skit were the best, but I have to include the Doogie theme song at the top, as that one made me laugh the most (at the beginning and end at least!)

  3. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    I gotta say the NPH SNL was all pretty good in my opinion. Then again, I love even some bad SNL skits. For instance, the “pepper” skit from earlier in this season. So bad it’s good.

    Anyway, the Broadway skit was fantastic and I thought it was funny that they got a nice dig at Jeremy (douche) Piven.

    The Doogie theme song rendition was fantastic as well! I laughed hard at the very last shot!

Leave a Reply

