A National Call to Service

7 January, 2009 at 6:10 pm (Barack Obama)

On Inauguration Day, Barack Obama will be asking the country for “a renewed commitment to national service”. And of course, President Web-Savvy (excuse me, President-elect Web-Savvy) has a website: usaservice.org. To kick it off, they’re asking everyone to volunteer for a service event on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (January 19th). Get involved!

And because Jeff knows it’s my favorite picture of him…Obama 2008

9 Comments

  1. Jason said,

    That is a great picture!

    I’m going to volunteer at Focus on the Family that day in an effort to protect traditional marriage. GO Rick Warren!

  2. Kelli said,

    Thanks for posting this! I was not aware but now I am. I am planning on volunteering both Saturday and Sunday before MLK Day. Saturday for the Second Harvest Food Bank sorting canned goods and Sunday doing yard work for HOME (Helping Others Make the Effort) a shelter that benefits homeless women with children.

  3. adayinthelyfe said,

    I’m impressed, Kelli! I’m still trying to figure out what I’m going to do…

  4. Rosella said,

    I have to work that day, so perhaps I will call it DLMEGH
    or (Don’t Let My Employees Go Hungry) Day.
    Folks in the midwest don’t get the day off. I will do something sat aft, maybe like Kelli, I will go stock cans at Christians Concerned. It is a good idea and thank you for bringing it to my attention.

  5. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    I’m gonna volunteer till it hurts…

    From a strictly selfish POV, it’s really hard to volunteer on MLK day because I work for a bank and we are CLOSED on that day and even everyone in corporate (me!) gets to be off work that day. So, yes it frees my day up for volunteering, but also makes it very hard to get out of bed too. Sigh… laziness… apathy…

    But, you know I’m no slouch when it comes to getting involved. 🙂

  6. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    Wow, me. Run-on sentence, much?

  7. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    He does look all Presidential in that picture, btw.

  8. adayinthelyfe said,

    He’s Presidential in a bad-ass, Harrison-Ford-in-“Air Force One” sort of way

  9. Kelli said,

    Air Force One comment – I laughed out loud on that one!

    And Genaro’s helping as well next weekend. We’re excited and I’ve done some research on Hands On Orlando. They’re the organization that’s behind my two volunteer projects. Looks like we’ve got a lot more Saturday’s of service coming up. 🙂 The next one will be cleaning up a dog park and making it safer for them. Right up our alley.

Leave a Reply

