The whitest Christmas I’ve ever had!

25 December, 2008 at 4:43 pm (Christmas!)

I’m spending Christmas in New Jersey, with Mom and Tim and Rachel. It’s the first Christmas I’ve spent with my mom in seven years or so, so that’s pretty great. So far, it’s Christmas as usual: open presents, eat too much, play Trivial Pursuit, watch something suitably seasonal on tv. The difference this year, however? There is snow! On the ground! Growing up in the Great Plains right by Texas, I lived most of my life without much snow at all. We’d get excited if enough fell to completely cover the ground in white, and even then it was usually an icy, terrible snow, not the soft, powdery stuff. Oklahoma gets cold weather, and lots of ice, but not much snow. But this year? In Jersey? Heck yes. Granted, it’s not snowing on Christmas day…but it snowed about a foot a few days ago, and it’s still here. So below, photos. And when I took them, keep in mind that it was a grey, rainy day – today it’s sunny and lovely, but I’m not getting out to walk around.

Just a note about where I am: Stillwater, NJ, a tiny town where Tim is the pastor of a Presbyterian Church

The church where Tim preaches - it's 150 years old

The church where Tim preaches - it's 150 years old

The manse (aka house where the preacher lives) - it's as old as the church

The manse (aka house where the preacher lives) - it's as old as the church

trees!

The woods behind the house...something else you don't see much of in SW OK: trees!

So that’s that. No funny stories, no snark. I’m having a pretty good Christmas, I must say. And I’m REALLY looking forward to the next two weeks; I don’t have to go back to work til January 5th!

I hope that everyone else had a great holiday, too. And in honor of the winter wonderland outside, and because it’s the greatest Christmas song ever (well, Top Five, anyway – but only if sung by Bing Crosby): “White Christmas”

4 Comments

  1. Rosella said,

    Thanks for the pictures and I am glad you went to Jersey. I know they all enjoyed having you and it is good to sometimes just relax in the small town atmosphere. Even for a type A city girl, small town Christmas can be fun sometimes. Merry Christmas

  2. Kelli said,

    Those house/church pics are gorgeous. I love old historic buildings like that.

  3. adayinthelyfe said,

    Thanks – the camera on the iPhone’s not so bad!

  4. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    Wow, that church and home are beautiful. Glad you finally got to have a white Christmas!

Leave a Reply

