Day without a Gay?

10 December, 2008 at 5:32 pm (Civil Rights, SuperGay)

So today is supposed to be the national “Day Without A Gay” – the thought is that Gay people across the country would call into work “gay” today, and that the impact of this would make people across the country realize how many gay people live in the U.S., how much we impact society, etc. etc. Also, instead of going to work, the movement encouraged participants to spend their day away from work volunteering at GLBT organizations. At first I thought this was a good idea, but I decided not to participate… a few reasons:

– I am pretty slammed at work right now, and missing a day of work would only have ended in me screwing myself over
– While the nation isn’t particularly gay friendly right now, my employer is. Is it right to “punish” a place that’s pro-gay?
– Calling in gay makes you think of calling in sick, and do we want people to think of the homos of being sick? Methinks not.
– (probably my biggest reason) This Day Without Gays wasn’t as well organized as the Join the Impact protest day a few weeks ago – I doubt as many people participated. So, I didn’t really want to become involved with something that was being done half-assed (a whole lot of people hadn’t heard this day was going up, but basically everyone knew about the protests on that Saturday in November)

Unrelated, but since I didn’t skip work for being gay – I’ll post the most ridiculously, stereotypically gay video in the history of the world. Ever. It’s old school internet video time, people…”Planet Unicorn haaaaaay”

fyi, Unicorn Beach is exactly like Fire Island. Exactly.

1 Comment

  1. Mom said,

    Okay, you got me. I watched the video and now I can’t get it out of my head. That makes it incredibly difficult to write a 5,000 word systematic theology paper. Shame on you.

Leave a Reply

