Fairytale of New York

9 December, 2008 at 8:56 am (Christmas!, Music, Weekend Update)

It’s weird…I’m in the Christmas spirit, listen to Christmas music like no other…but at the same time, I don’t feel it’s super Christmasy right now. Part of this is my general aversion to shopping – if you’re not in stores, you’re not really getting the Joy Of Christmas shoved down your throat. But I suppose that the biggest reason for it feeling like it’s not really Christmastime is that I’m once again not decorating for Christmas. This makes three years in a row (i.e., every year since I moved from OK) I’ve been decor-free. I used to always decorate a tree, hang stockings, put up lights (in my house, say, around the windows – I’m sure my friend Kevin is gagging over that one), the whole bit. But when I moved I got rid of all that: lights, ornaments, fake trees – everything. The good news is that I now know I’m not allergic to real trees, so eventually I’ll get one of those…but not with the space I have. Hopefully next year, I’ll have either more space in my current apartment, or a new, larger apartment. Til then, I’ll have to enjoy the apartments of the friends who have decorated. Well, apartment, anyway.

Last weekend, I had finally returned from my trip to Houston. (You may have noticed I did not blog about my trip to Houston – that’s because there was nothing really blog-worthy that happened). On Saturday, I went to a friend-of-a-friend’s party. They live across the street from Central Park, a couple of blocks from Robert and Kevin’s place. When we were walking to the party, it was snowing…while we were at the party, it started snowing harder…by the time we left, it was sticking to the ground. So we all went back to their apartment, picked up Tucker, and went on a walk in the park. There is nothing better than watching the snow fall in New York. Okay, fine, there are things better. But it’s downright – dare I say it? – magical. Certainly the most “Christmasy” thing that has happened to date.

So, in honor of Saturday’s brief-but-nice snow, here’s the song “Fairytale of New York” by the Pogues. If you live outside of the UK you may not be familiar with the song, though it has been pretty big there. And just to warn you…the song doesn’t start picking up til about 1:24, so if you’re the impatient sort, you may want to fast forward. Consider yourself warned.

*Note: this song is not actually very fairytaleish, but it’s entertaining.

5 Comments

  1. Rachel Lynn said,

    I love that song. And never fear, as the manse will be so dripping in Christmas decorations that it will make up for your decorating shame. Actually, the manse isn’t so totally over-Christmased, but you should see our apartment…

  2. Mom said,

    Rachel introduced me to this song and I love it. In fact, I think I’ll have to put it on my iPod before making my trek to OK on Sunday.
    BTW, if you put up a live tree, then you are just like Becky with her cat, you girls don’t want you mom to come visit you – although I will and will just complain about it 😉

    • adayinthelyfe said,

      haha I’ve lived in NY for close to two years, and you’ve been to my place once – so I’m not too worried about it!

  3. Rosella said,

    Love the song. Thanks. Did not know you were in Houston. You could have called your cousin!!! Next year I am sending decorations. Or maybe I will just bring them!

  4. Mom said,

    Argh, you got me. But I have been there once which caused me to realize how difficult it is to find a parking place in NYC and just how tiny NYC apartments are! I had planned to stop in when I picked you up on the 23rd, but now maybe I’ll just honk. 😛

Leave a Reply

