Go See This movie

29 November, 2008 at 5:51 pm (Civil Rights, Historical Figure, Movie to Watch, SuperGay)

Harvey Milk

Yesterday I went and saw Milk, the bio on slain San Francisco city supervisor Harvey Milk. Everyone should go see this movie (it opens most places on December 5th). It’s hopeful, and sad, and wonderful. I don’t know how I ever questioned Sean Penn being cast as Harvey Milk – I’ll be surprised if he doesn’t get an Oscar nod from this. But the entire movie is so well done; from what I remember of the documentary The Life and Times of Harvey Milk, it’s pretty spot-on with accuracy. They also actually filmed this in the Castro, not just on the street but in the bars there. Robert will be the only one who gets this, but at one point, there is a scene where a character runs into the Glass Coffin, and I bust out laughing when I saw that tacky carpeting. Nobody else in the theater was laughing…

The only thing I wish was different about this movie? I wish they would have opened it about three months ago; I have no doubt that had people seen this, the outcome of Prop 8 may have turned out quite differently.

Leave a Reply

