Bookends of my trip to South Carolina

19 November, 2008 at 10:04 pm (This Can't Be Good)

Sunday, Day 1: find out too late that the train doesn’t run very often on Sunday mornings to the Newark airport, and end up having to take a $75 cab out there; get to the hotel in Charleston and discover we have to waste 4 hours before we can check in because our room isn’t ready.

Wednesday, Day 4: Discover that I have lost my debit card; have to borrow cash from Sandy to get home; somehow, for the first time EVER, miss my stop on the subway and have to get off at the next one up and walk 11 blocks back down in 28 degree cold – because my unlimited metro card expired while I was gone, and I refused to pay $2 for the trip; and come home to discover that not only my kitchen but also my living room lights are burned out, and I can’t see a thing.

I’m glad to be home, though I would love to crawl into bed and not leave for a day or so.

5 Comments

  1. Rachel Lynn said,

    To be fair to South Carolina, it seems like most of the horrible things that happened to you happened in NY. Sucks either way though! Poor thing.

  2. adayinthelyfe said,

    Yes, but it was only because NY didn’t want me to leave – and then was punishing me for leaving when I returned. Obviously.

  3. Rosella said,

    That is sad. I am sorry. Some days it doesn’t pay to get OUT of bed. Saturday, you can pull the covers up over your head and feel bad for yourself!! At least you got home safely and you had someone with you to help you out and you weren’t stranded. I love Pollyanna!!!

  4. Kelli said,

    UGH! This totally sounds like something that would happen to me. Good luck with the debit card thing. What a pain in the ass. Much love for friends that are around in your greatest times of need! Hooray Sandy! They are what makes the world go ’round. Hell hath no wrath like NYC’s scorn.

  5. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    So, did anything “good” happen on this trip? 🙂

Leave a Reply

