Conferencing in South Carolina

17 November, 2008 at 11:48 pm (Miscellaneous, This Can't Be Good, Travel)

I’m with Sandy at a Blackbaud Conference in Charleston, South Carolina. (note: Blackbaud is the company that makes the database we use to track our donors where I work, and part of Sandy and my job is to teach our fundraising staff how to use the database.)

So far, it’s been alright. Charleston is apparently a big tourist city, but I don’t get it. There’s really not much to do here, and the city isn’t all that beautiful (if you really need to vacation in the Carolinas, I suggest Charlotte). There’s a few shops, yes, but…eh. It’s definitely the Deep South, though…just this morning we were driving to the conference and heard the DJs on the radio telling a racist joke involving an Indian and Smallpox…sigh.

The only other thing to note is me whacking myself in the nose with the heavy part of my laptop charger. It’s not really worth taking the time trying to explain how that happened…but it did, and we needed to put something cold on it right away, just in case. Since we’re in a hotel we didn’t have ice…and then Sandy had this brilliant idea…

I'm endorsing no particular brand of soda for icing one's nose

Please note: I'm endorsing no particular brand of soda for icing one's nose


You have to give Sandy credit: she’s creative in a pinch!

5 Comments

  1. Rebecca Lee said,

    you really need a category just for injuries. i really don’t remember you being that bad as a child…

  2. Rosella said,

    Nice job!!! I am impressed with the creative genius but I don’t know about the recepient of the treatment. You should treat yourself better. You don’t like the south? I never took you for a steel magnolia anyway. Maybe that’s why you live in NYC.

  3. Mom said,

    A hotel with no ice? Times must be hard. Glad Sandy was there to help out though. I’m not sure I would have thought of using a soft drink for a cold compress – peas yes, soda no. Did you get a shiner or two out of it?

  4. adayinthelyfe said,

    Technically, the hotel had an ice machine…but we were already in pjs, and nobody was running down the hall to get some 🙂

    And no, no bruising or anything. Just a little sore, but nothing you can see!

  5. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    You’re a beautiful corporate-sponsored unicorn!

Leave a Reply

