The Return to San Francisco

27 October, 2008 at 9:52 am (Travel, Weekend Update)

Finally, at long last, I’m blogging about the last few weeks. A non-political blog (you’re welcome, Robert!) I know, I know – everyone was just holding their collective breaths for this! Where to begin…

About three weeks ago, I went to Sonoma for work (we were told we were going to Napa, but they were wrong – not that there’s a big difference between the two, but still). Two of our “teams” (gotta love that cheesy corporate lingo) that have people working in four different cities all got together to actually work on projects together, plan for the 2009 fiscal year, etc. Fun stuff. They rented three different lodges for us to stay in, and the one I was in faced a river. It was quiet and relaxing, no cell phone service, in the middle of nowhere…needless to say, I was ready to get out of there after about six hours. Well, I was there a bit longer than six hours…after three nights in Sonoma – back to San Francisco!

Yeah, yeah, it's off-center...you try taking a picture from a car!

Yeah, yeah, it's off-center...you try taking a picture from a car!

While the rest of my “team” (there’s that word again…) headed back to NYC, I stayed behind. There was work I could do with our Bay area development staff, and my friend Michelle had a spare room where I could stay, so I thought, why not? Let’s hang around SF for a week. I hadn’t been back since I moved nearly two years ago, and I was curious. You know what they say about curiosity killing the cat, right?

Nah, it wasn’t that bad. Truth be told, though, I was really ready to get back to NY! When I lived in SF, someone told me that it was a “small town masquerading as a big city”. That seemed preposterous to me at the time, as San Francisco was so much more urban than Tulsa (the largest city I’d lived in to date). But I realize now that New York has totally ruined me for other cities. SF seemed so slow paced! And the city basically shut down around midnight. And don’t even get me started on the public transit there…

However, I shan’t bitch about SF. It is a beautiful city, and it certainly has a lot of perks. Who knows, maybe I’ll even live there again someday, when I finally tire of NY (i’m sure that will happen…eventually). And anyway, I did have fun the week I was there. Highlights:

Fleet Week I’m not a big Fleet Week fan; I could give a damn about the sailors, and the loud planes annoy me. But I was only there for the end of it, so three friends (hey, Michelle, Josie, and Rasha!) and I went to Fort Mason park to watch the air show my first full day in town. It was a beautiful day, and the park is nice and has amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge. Granted, the day was more about the food/wine/conversation than the air show, but it was still a great time!

Cheap Drinks I was able to buy a round of drinks for three of us for $13. Enough said.

Ocean Beach San Francisco has a weird, late-season summer, and I was there to enjoy that. 80 degrees in SF – that rarely happens! And, the area by Ocean Beach is typically cool and foggy…but on the day I decided to go to the beach, it was actually warm and sunny. That afternoon in itself would have justified my staying in SF for so long!

Red Bull Soap Box Derby Yes, I know. It sounds cheesy and ridiculous. But the derby was happening my last day in the city, and it was another beautiful day, so it seemed like as good a reason as any to go sit in Dolores Park. And I have to say, it was actually a lot of fun! There were around 60,000 people at the park, and you had to watch everything happening on giant monitors – but it was a lot more fun than you’d imagine! (I tried to find a youtube video of all this, but there was nothing worth posting)

So, that’s that. My big return to San Francisco, complete. It was nice to go back – and nice that it was only for a vacation 🙂

I have more to tell…about Lyndsie and Kevin coming to visit, among other things! But that blog shall have to wait for later…my job expects me to come in at some point today…

3 Comments

  1. Rosella said,

    Oh, you are working? I wondered what you did in your spare time!

  2. Mom said,

    Wow, a non-political blog! I thoroughly enjoyed it – even the picture of the bridge. I’m glad you had fun. And about that round of drinks…would $13 even buy ONE drink in NY?

  3. Mike Wise..Dr. Wise if youre nasty said,

    sounds like a loverly time.

Leave a Reply

