Ben Folds rocks, and I have a new crush

3 October, 2008 at 8:52 am (Concert, Music)

For my birthday, Sandy bought me two tickets to see Ben Folds on September 30th. Excellent! He hasn’t been here since I’ve lived here, and I’ve been dying to see him live (I saw him in Tulsa once, but it was a pretty low-key show, which doesn’t do him justice). There was just one catch to Sandy’s gift, though: she wouldn’t (or really didn’t want to) go with me. So why did she buy me two tickets? I have no idea; you’ll have to ask her. Anyway, Rachel came with me instead – and we had a fabulous time.

The opener for Ben Folds was an artist name Missy Higgins.

Hot Australian

Hot Australian


I know someone has told me about her before, but I cannot remember who. It’s driving me a little nuts. Anyway, she’s super-cute, and has an adorable Australian accent, and a gorgeous voice. Oh, and she likes girls. Sorry Jenny Owen Youngs, I have a new guitar-girl crush

Next was the Ben Folds show. Ben Folds isn’t on stuff white people like, but he should be. I mean, take a look:

Almost as white as the RNC

The biggest white crowd since the RNC

So the crowd didn’t look like NY. Regardless, the show was phenomenal. I don’t know if you know Ben Folds, but he beats the hell out of a piano – yet at the same time, he still plays piano beautifully. And his albums don’t do it justice – live, there is just SO much energy to his music. I’m trying to find a clip that shows this, and I am still looking for a good live clip…but trust me. He came out and played newer stuff, off the last two albums, plus some ‘fake’ songs (that’s a whole other story). He did that for about an hour and 15 minutes with the full band. Then, he left – and came back and did a whole second set with just the bass player and drummer (fun fact: the Ben Folds Five was actually a trio). That part of the show was about 45 minutes of old stuff. Two hours solid. And he played every song that I was hoping he would play. It was awesome. Plus, Ben Folds is one of those rare artists that actually likes, REALLY likes, what they do. He comes across as knowing he’s lucky that he gets to do this for a living, and seems like he’s just having a lot of fun with the crowd. I had a blast.

Alright, I settled on a clip…it doesn’t do his live show justice, but it’s one of my favorite old-school Ben Folds songs. It was from a live show he did for MySpace, so it’s a pretty small crowd…

4 Comments

  1. sandy said,

    ahem … I would have gone with you, mama 🙂 but yes, I’m not the biggest ben fan LOL. I’m glad you liked the gift 🙂

  2. Kelli said,

    It was me! I ADORE Missy Higgins! I’m so jealous you got to see her!

  3. Aaron said,

    Ben folds is one of my favs. simply moving.

  4. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    Although, my adoration for BF has waned in the last few years, I would still go to a show. I’ve seen him a couple of times. The first was 10 years ago when it was still Ben Folds 5 and all the frat boys were crying into their beers throughout “Brick” not knowing that it was a song about an unplanned pregnancy and abortion.

    Then I saw him play at TU a few years ago. The first show was definitely better and much rowdier (which I love).

    I cherish the “Rockin’ the Suburbs” album.

Leave a Reply

