Two Movies, One Weekend

8 September, 2008 at 3:16 pm (Miscellaneous, Movie to Watch)

This weekend was fairly uneventful…Tropical Storm Hanna was pretty lame, and not a lot going on.  Not the worst thing in the world, I’ve got a lot coming up on the horizon…but I’ve also been home a LOT lately (the stupid ankle still hurts if I walk too far), so it’s getting old. Ah, well.

However, I did see a couple of movies this weekend.  After work Friday, Sandy and I went to see Hamlet 2

I had high hopes for this movie…and ended up being a bit disappointed.  Steve Coogan is great, but something about this movie was just off.  Rachel and I discussed it, and I think she hit the nail on the head: the main character just wasn’t interesting or funny enough to carry an entire movie.  Don’t get me wrong, there were definite “laugh out loud” moments.  But overall, not as funny as I had hoped!  For a better Steve Coogan movie, see 24 Hour Party People.  Not really a comedy, but a damn good movie. (and I must give Rachel credit for introducing it to me, and pointing out that it is the finer of Coogan’s efforts)

Right, so I also went to see Pineapple Express on Saturday.

for those easily offended, this is not the “rated for all ages” preview; this is the R-Rated trailer
My friend Dan called me up to see if I wanted to get out of the house…yes, please!  Pineapple Express was pretty freaking hilarious.  The one thing I didn’t expect?  It was violent.  Super violent.  Crazy, almost-worse-than-The Dark Knight-violent.  It’s a stoner comedy, and the stoners get into highjinks with the bad guy, and usually that’s where this type of movie would get silly.  Pineapple Express, however, was true to the way bad guys operate – they shot everyone.  Shooting off a foot?  Check.  Part of someone’s ear?  Yup.  On and on with the violence.  A little much for a relaxing afternoon movie – but still highly entertaining.  (Get it?  Highly?  HIGHly?  Ha, I kill me).

So now here it is, another work week.  I’ve got a huge project that is never-ending, and it’s Monday before noon and I’m already counting down to the weekend – never a good sign.  However, on a positive note: this is the last full week I’ll be in the office until the last week of October.  Sweet!

4 Comments

  1. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    Still haven’t seen Hamlet 2, but now I think I’ll wait and rent it.

    Love Pineapple Express!

    I also love 24 Hour Party People! Anything dealing with Joy Division, New Order or Tony Wilson is probably good in my book.

    And since you’re into all things “meta”, I would suggest you check out another of Coogan’s films which is also directed by Michael Winterbottom (24 Hour Party People). It’s called “Tristam Shandy”. Very different kind of movie, but very interesting as well. I liked it anyway.

  2. adayinthelyfe said,

    Rachel has told me I need to see “Tristam Shandy”, too. I will add it to the Netflix queue…

  3. Rache Lynn said,

    Don’t add it to Netflix! I’ll loan it to you. Or we could watch it on Saturday?

  4. adayinthelyfe said,

    Oh yeah, bring it with you Saturday!

Leave a Reply

