Reason 872 New York is the Greatest City Ever: Free Concerts

8 September, 2008 at 3:56 pm (Uncategorized)

Yes, free concerts. One tonight, One Wednesday. And both French Canadians, which is a little weird. Well, one is half, but still…

Rufus Wainwright tonight.

Thinking Canadian Thoughts

Thinking Canadian Thoughts


I love me some Rufus. He’s actually going to be appearing at a taping for a show on The Sundance Channel hosted by Elvis Costello at the Apollo theatre…there is just too much coolness in that previous sentence, really.

And Wednesday? Celine Dion.

Thinking More Canadian Thoughts

Thinking More Canadian Thoughts


Yes, yes, I know. However, a perk to working at a non-profit is that these things come up…I’m not sure how the tickets became available, exactly, but they’re free, and one of my BFFs loves Celine, so we’re going.

And expect post-show posts about each…

4 Comments

  1. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    I can’t say I’d be stoked about Celine, but Rufus would be wonderful. I still kick myself for not going to Caz’s Bar (you know the place! Actually, that’s where I met you!) following the Killers concert at Cain’s. That fateful night in a grungy, little bar in Tulsa, OK, Mr. Lead-Singer-of-the-Killers-hottie, Brandon Flowers, strolled into the bar post-show and who else was there? Mr. hottie-singer-songwriter, Rufus Wainwright. He was also having a post-show drink because he’d just played the old lady Brady. Thus was born the song, “Tulsa” by Wainwright, who wanted to meet Flowers that night.

    Why am I posting this? I dunno. You were probably at the Rufus show and probably at Caz’s afterwards. I remember Justice was there. Lucky!

  2. adayinthelyfe said,

    As a matter of fact, I was in Caz’s afterword, with Miss Waidner! Even better, when Rufus wasn’t allowed into the Majestic, I went and bitched at the door guy, then offered to buy Rufus a drink.

    Being a drunken fool to Rufus Wainwright – one of the Top Ten moments of my life 🙂

  3. Mom said,

    The perks you have in your job are pretty awesome.

  4. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    I had a feeling you were there!

Leave a Reply

