My First Hurricane!

5 September, 2008 at 6:07 pm (Uncategorized)

Alright, technically Hanna is just tropical storm…as of now.  But still, my first tropical storm watch!  From Saturday morning – Sunday morning…

This is great, it will totally add to my list of “Natural Disasters I Have Lived Through” (Okay, fine: “Natural Disasters Through Which I Have Lived”).  Tornado?  Check.  Earthquake?  Check.  Hurricane?  Well, maybe!  Now if I can just add blizzard to the list, I think I’ll be set…

Really, I’m far enough off the ocean that this is just going to be crazy storms in the city. And god knows I’ve lived through much worse storms growing up in the Great Plains! Robert and Kevin, though, are staying on Fire Island. Curious to see how that works out…

EDIT: We’re now in a Tropical Storm Warning instead of a Watch…I know with tornados that means one has actually touched the ground; maybe it changed since it’s made landfall in the Carolinas?

5 Comments

  1. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    Not that I’ve had to endure a hurricane, but I’m so tired of hearing about them…

  2. jandu said,

    you want blizzard? Come to Canada … I show you blizzard!

  3. adayinthelyfe said,

    Did you comment that from your fancy new iPhone?

  4. Rache Lynn said,

    When I freak the f*&$ out later because I think I’m dying in a hurricane, I’m calling you. (Though for the record, we had one of these a couple of years ago in Jersey. It wasn’t that bad. But perhaps it would be worse in Manhattan, given that it’s on an island.)

  5. Rosella said,

    We had the big wind and rain last week. I felt like I was on the coast instead of the middle of the country. I was fierce. Stay out of skyscrapers and away from big windows. Just go to bed and pull the covers up over your head and turn the music up loud.

Leave a Reply

