Milk

4 September, 2008 at 11:40 am (Historical Figure, Movie to Watch, SuperGay)

It’s my new blog!

I’ve been meaning to post on here, but hadn’t yet thought of a good inaugural post.  Then I decided, well, probably just best to take the leap.  So here goes!

I just watched a preview for the new Gus Van Sant film, “Milk”.  This is a movie about Harvey Milk that’s been in the works for awhile…and it looks like it won’t disappoint:

See?  Pretty good stuff.

Now, some of you are asking, “Who is Harvey Milk?”  A very important figure in history (especially for us gays).  Ever heard of the Twinkie defense?  No?  Well, read about Harvey Milk, and the terrible injustice that was done to him, here:
http://www.time.com/time/time100/heroes/profile/milk01.html

Or, watch the excellent documentary about him from the 80s, narrated by Harvey Firestein, “The Life and Times of Harvey Milk”.

5 Comments

  1. Kelli said,

    You’re inspiring me. I feel like I need a blog. I want to be one of the cool kids :).

    Hope you’re doing well!

  2. Rosella said,

    I don’t know if I did all that right, but it’s ok, I’m old!! I am not sure my brain is agile enough to keep up with your blog, but I am certainly going to try. That’s how I get smart..I will look up the Twinkie thing and the milk thing.
    I almost missed the second half, very clever.
    NO, not clever, I just didn’t wait for the middle to load!!! Now I have seen the preview and I will attempt to see the movie or read about him. I am sorry to say that I am so insulated that I do not know who he is, but I will correct THAT injustice soon. Thanks for including me.

  3. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    I almost posted this as well today. It’s available in Quicktime format at http://www.apple.com/trailers/focus_features/milk/ if you want to see really high quality versions of it. Just FYI.

    Hooray for the new blog!

  4. adayinthelyfe said,

    You trying to say your trailer is better than mine, Snodgrass?

  5. jeffreysnodgrass said,

    Hells yeah! HD baby! HD!

Leave a Reply

